Six degrees of separation: From Moscow to Vimy

#6Degrees

Six degrees of separation:
From Moscow to Vimy

Using my own rules for this fun meme hosted by Kate at Booksaremyfavouriteandbest (see there the origin of the meme and how it works – posted the first Saturday of every month), I started in Moscow and ended up in Vimy, France, where many Canadian soldiers fought during WWI.
Come with me!

Here are my own quirky rules:

1. Use your list of books on Goodreads
2. Take the first word of the title offered and find another title with that word in it
3. Then use the first word of THAT title to find your text title
4. Or the second if the title starts with the same word, or you are stuck

After the covers,
you can find the links to my reviews
or to the title on Goodreads

 a-gentleman-in-moscowArsene Lupin 

 Mrs Pollifax and the second thiefStar For Mrs Blake

 Shakespeare's Star warsUnravelled

1. A Gentleman in Moscow
I was going to read it, as I have heard so many people rave about this book. But then, I talked with a Russian woman, and she told this could really never have happened in Moscow. As it’s a historical fiction, and I like my histfic to be based on real facts, I’ve passed so far. But you may convince me to read it?

2. Arsène Lupin, Gentleman-Thief
The author Leblanc is basically the French Conan Doyle. This is a major classic in mystery, and totally fun! He’s a thief, yes, but what a gentleman!!

3. Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief
I discovered Mrs. Pollifax, because I wanted to read books set in different countries, for the 52 countries challenge.
I have loved this series to pieces, the character of Mrs. Pollifax is delightful: image a retired lady who’s afraid to get bored, and ends up working as a secret agent. Each book of the series is set in a  different country. This one is in Sicily, and is about art thieves and the mob.

4. A Star For Mrs. Blake
Excellent historical novel featuring Gold Star Mothers, whom I knew nothing about.
VERDICT: Very powerful, yet not overwhelmingly emotional historical novel, reflecting on many facets of international conflicts. Highly recommended to anyone curious to know what happened on the field of WWI, and how it affected people, relationships, and countries.

5. William Shakespeare’s Star Wars
This is an incredible series: imagine Star Wars, “all recounted in the style of the Bard,
with rhymes, chorus, list of characters entering and exiting for each scene, just like a real play. It really made me laugh aloud many times.”
VERDICT: For fans of Star Wars and Shakespeare,  this book offers a refreshing look at how it all began. Tension, suspense and humor are all present. Not to miss.
(the link is to book 1)

6. Unravelled: Two Wars. Two Affairs. One marriage
Another great historical novel, both on WWI and WWII. Great author!

***

Visit other chains here

***

HAVE YOU READ AND ENJOYED ANY OF THESE BOOKS?
DID YOU PLAY
SIX DEGREES OF SEPARATION
THIS MONTH?

 

Bout of Books 22: Day 2 challenge

Bout of Books 22

#boutofbooks

Click on the logo to join the fun!

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized
by Amanda @ On a Book Bender
and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal.
It is a week long read-a-thon that begins
12:01am Monday, May 14 and runs through Sunday, May 20
in whatever time zone you are in.
Bout of Books is low-pressure.
There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize,
but all of these are completely optional.
For all Bout of Books 22 information and updates,
be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.
From the Bout of Books team

Bout of Books 22:

Day 2 Challenge

Challenge “Year of You”

Share a book that was published the year you were born.
If you don’t wish to disclose your age (that’s fine; you’ll get no judgment either way here),
pick a book that was significant to your childhood.
Thanks to Courtney Lynn (@ceelynnreading) for today’s challenge!

In 2011, I started hosting a reading challenge (I just did it for a few years) based on books published in the first years of your life. For that challenge, I picked a book that I had to read for university studies. I had liked it back then, but I no longer do. Long story short, I had to go and find another book!
I chose one that is probably not familiar to many of you, but that I REALLY enjoyed a lot:

Unexpected Mrs Pollifax

Have you ever met Emily Pollifax? She’s basically Mrs Marple’s American cousin!
I met her back then when I was doing the 52 countries reading challenge, I was looking for books set in other countries, and I found her in the audiobooks at my library: the cool thing in this series, is that each book is set in a different country. I invite you to read my recap post to learn more about it. It’s an excellent series, with good suspense, smart characters, and lots of travel adventures!
And the first book of the series, the one here featured, happened to be published the year I was born, 1966.

 What great book was published
the year you were born?

Save

2015: June wrap-up

June 2015 wrap-up

Eiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower Orange

Not sure what happened, and how I spent my evenings, apart from a time of vacation, where nature is my focus, but the stats are down this month.
Vacation though does explain the surge in audiobook time, especially the super long drive back, 12 hours, with downpours and many accidents. We were able to finish a whole audiobook at least!

Here is what I read in June:

8 books.
= 6 books
with 1,129 pages, that is: 37.6 pages/day.
+ 2 audiobooks = 24:06 hours, that is an average of  48 mn/day

4 in  mystery:

  1. A Fatal Grace, by Louise Penny – audio
  2. The Tightrope Walker, by Dorothy Gilman
  3. The Beautiful Mystery, by Louise Penny – audio
  4. The Third Rule of Ten, by Gay Hendricks – ebook

3 in literary fiction:

  1. In a Grove, by Ryūnosuke Akutagawa – short story, ebook
  2. Rashomon, by Ryūnosuke Akutagawa – short story, ebook
  3. The Travels of Daniel Ascher, by Déborah Lévy-Bertherat

1 in historical fiction:

  1. Race to Tibet, by Sophie Schiller

My favorite in June

    The Beautiful Mystery

Reading Challenges recap

French Bingo: 19/25
Audiobook: 9/15
Ebook challenge: 30/25 DONE
Historical fiction: 12/25
Japanese literature: 2/6
My Kind of Mysteries: 16/21-30
New authors challenge: 33/50
New Release (2015): 32/31-45
Nonfiction challenge: 6/16-20
TBR challenge: 1/12
Books in Translation: 16/12 DONE
What’s in a Name: 5/6
Where Are You Reading?: 17/50 – to be finished in 2015?!

Total of books read in 2015 = 60/100

Number of books added to my TBR in June = 26

Blog recap

  • 2 of the 8 books read were received for review — I’m working a bit on my TBR, finally!

  • Other Press has started sending me books in translation to review, thanks!
  • 38 reviews posted so far for my French Bingo 2015 Challenge, don’t forget to link yours with the mr Linky widget.

  • I organized 2 giveaways in June. There’s always one going on at France Book Tours. Be sure to check the July Giveaway! 4 books to choose from!

  • I’m starting to accept more guest-posts, 3 in June. The big news was that having won the super prize at Bout of Books, I got super gorgeous logos for France Book Tours. If you missed it, here is my post about it. You have to see what Shirley can design so cute!

Most popular book review in June

How to Blog a Book

click on the cover to access my review

Most popular post last month
– non book review

Sunday Post #16

Book blog that brought me
most traffic this past month

Carole’s Chatter

please go visit

Top commenters of the month

Inspired by Becca at I’m Lost in Books!
and her Blogger Shout-Outs feature

= 1 point per month for the top 3.
The one who has the most points at the end of the year will receive a gift!
NB: just congratulating winners of giveaways does not count as a real comment 😉

5: Katherine at I Wish I Lived In a Library
4: Martha at MG’s French Lit Page
4: Denise @DeniseDuvall2
3: Lucy at The Fictional 100

Blog milestones

1,174 posts
over 3,250 subscribers
over 92,300 hits

Blog plans for July

  • Mostly tackling my TBR!
  • Come back tomorrow to see what books I’ll be reading in July.
  • June was audiobook month. I know, that would have been perfect to do my video recap on the audiobooks I have listened to so far this year. I missed the boat, but still plan to do it!!

Eiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower OrangeEiffel Tower Orange

How was YOUR month of  June?

Month in ReviewKathryn at The Book Date
has created a Month In Review meme
I’ll now be linking my monthly recap posts
Thanks Kathryn, great idea!