Spotlight and giveaway: The Canterbury Murders

The Canterbury Murders
by E.M. Powell

Publication Date: November 12, 2020
Crosshaven Press

Series: Stanton & Barling, #3
Genre: Historical Fiction/Mystery

 

 

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

Available on Amazon

About the Author

E.M. Powell’s historical thriller and medieval mystery Fifth Knight and Stanton & Barling novels have been #1 Amazon and Bild bestsellers.

The third Stanton & Barling mystery, THE CANTERBURY MURDERS, will be released in November 2020.

Born and raised in the Republic of Ireland into the family of Michael Collins (the legendary revolutionary and founder of the Irish Free State), she lives in northwest England with her husband, daughter and a Facebook-friendly dog.

E.M. Powell is represented by Josh Getzler at HG Literary.

Find out more by visiting www.empowell.com. You can also find him on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, January 11
Guest Post at Novels Alive
Review at Passages to the Past

Tuesday, January 12
Review at Reader_ceygo

Wednesday, January 13
Feature at Words and Peace
Guest Post at The Writing Desk

Thursday, January 14
Review at YA, It’s Lit

Friday, January 15
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Saturday, January 16
Review & Excerpt at Older & Smarter

Sunday, January 17
Interview at Reader_ceygo
Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Monday, January 18
Feature at I’m Into Books

Tuesday, January 19
Review at A Book Geek

Wednesday, January 20
Feature at The Lit Bitch

Thursday, January 21
Review at Novels Alive
Interview at Madwoman in the Attic

Friday, January 22
Feature at Reading is My Remedy

Monday, January 25
Review at Chicks, Rogues and Scandals

Tuesday, January 26
Interview at Jathan & Heather

Wednesday, January 27
Review at Books and Zebras

Thursday, January 28
Review at the.b00kreader

Friday, January 29
Review at Hoover Book Reviews

Monday, February 1
Review at A Darn Good Read
Review at Books, Cooks, Looks

Wednesday, February 3
Review at Impressions In Ink
Review at Debjani’s Thoughts
Interview & Excerpt at Books & Benches

Thursday, February 4
Review at Bookramblings

Friday, February 5
Review at Coffee and Ink
Review at Jessica Belmont
Review at Donna’s Book Blog

Giveaway

Enter to win a paperback copy of The Canterbury Murders by E.M. Powell! Two copies are up for grabs!

The giveaway is open to the US only and ends on February 5th. You must be 18 or older to enter. Click here: The Canterbury Murders

Six degrees of separation: from the Bible to Canterbury

#6Degrees

Six degrees of separation:
from
the Bible to Canterbury

Another cool result this month!
Using my own rules for this fun meme hosted by Kate at Booksaremyfavouriteandbest (see there the origin of the meme and how it works – posted the first Saturday of every month), I started with a containing the word Bible and ended up in Canterbury. This is really fun, you never know where you’ll end up.
Here are my own quirky rules:

  1. Use your list of books on Goodreads

  2. Take the first word of the title offered and find another title with that word in it

  3. Then use the first word of THAT title to find your text title

  4. Or the second if the title starts by the same word

After the covers, you can find the links of my reviews or the title on Goodreads:

    The Poisonwood Bible   The Poisoned Crown

     The French Sultana    fairy-tales

                    Perrault's Fairy Tales  Canterbury tales

 

1. The Poisonwood Bible = this is the first book I read by Kingsolver. I was still in France, but a friend loved it so much, he mailed it to me from the US. After that, I have almost all her books.
2. The Poisoned Crown = this is the 3rd book in the famous historical fiction series by the French Maurice Druon, called The Accursed Kings. I really enjoyed the first two, but was no longer in the mood for #3 and DNFed it. Maybe one day I’ll get back to it.
3. The French Sultana (The Veil and the Crown, #2)= wonderful historical novel on Josephine’s cousin!
4. Fairy Tales for the Disillusioned: Enchanted Stories from the French Decadent Tradition = fabulous and quirky anthology by PrincetonUniversity Press
5. Perrault’s Fairy Tales =  I actually read them in French, a few decades ago.
6. The Canterbury Tales = I listened to them 7 years ago, it was fun!

***

Visit other chains here

***

HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE BOOKS?
HAVE YOU PLAYED
SIX DEGREES OF SEPARATION
THIS MONTH?