This is the time of the year when I start panicking seeing the list of books I read this year and have not reviewed yet. You know the feeling I’m sure. So I’m embracing the solution lots of you book bloggers have been doing as well. Here are a few short reviews of children books and/or Graphic novels I have read so far this year.

The Cheshire Cheese CatThe Cheshire Cheese Cat: A Dickens of a Tale,
by Carmen Agra Deedy & Randall Wright,
Illustrations by Barry Moser

228 pages
Published October 2011
by Peachtree Publishers
This is a really cute story of a smart cat, his enemy, and his friends, who you would think they should be actually his enemies.
It is set in a most famous English pub, where no less than Mr. Charles Dickens often comes and struggles to find the first lines of a book he is working on.
The book is very smartly done, it was really delightful, and I loved the conclusion of course, even though I saw it coming. So it is also a book about books. Highly recommended.

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide
Shop Indie Bookstores

cover_lilu-dudu-klLilu And Dudu: Adventures in Bora Bora,
by Fabienne Bratschi
Illustrations by Bernhard Oberdieck
40 pages
This is a book I was actually asked to translate from English into French.
It was originally published in German
Friends Lilu (rabbit) and Dudu (turtle) are visiting relatives in Bora Bora.
After a storm at sea, they end up on a strange island.
They meet a nice family of tiny rabbits,
but there’s always the danger looming of the bad ape Pongo.
How are they going to survive?
Cute story with gorgeous drawings, and the descriptions of the setting are also very neat.

Julia, Child

Julia, Child
by Kyo Maclear

Illustrations by Julie Morstad

Hardcover, 32 pages
Published July 8th 2014
by Tundra Books
Another neat children book inspired by Julia Child.
It’s about cooking and the art of remaining young at heart.
In the art work, I enjoyed the mix of black lines and colors.
Here is just one example to show you what I’m talking about:
Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Shop Indie Bookstores

The Right Word

The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus
by Jennifer Fisher Bryant
Illustrations by Melissa Sweet

Hardcover, 42 pages
Published September 15th 2014
by Eerdman’s

This is an awesome biography of Roget for children.
I really liked the smart illustrations accompanying the text. They were done in such a way that they really helped convey the growing fascination Roget had for words, and how his mind, starting as a very young kid, wanted to list and classify things.
This guy was quite fascinating. And now I really want to read his biography.
Here is one example of illustrations:
The Right Word

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Shop Indie Bookstores

Goodnight Darth Vader

Goodnight Darth Vader (Jeffrey Brown’s Star Wars)
by Jeffrey Brown 

Hardcover, 64 pages
Published July 22nd 2014
by Chronicle Books

In the tradition of Darth Vader and Son,
and Vader’s Little Princess,
I wanted to read this one.
I didn’t like it as much as the two previous one,
I think some illustrations were not as good as in the previous books.
but it is still cool and a must for all Star Wars fun.
How was bedtime you think for young Luke and Leia, and all your other Star Wars friends?
This picture can give you an idea:

Goodnight Darth Vader2

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide
Shop Indie Bookstores

 

HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE
OR WHICH ONE LOOKS
THE MOST INTERESTING
TO YOU

 

Advertisements